Well, it finally happened. After a year of searching, sending out resume after resume and filling out online applications by the truckload, I have attained the holy grail that is employment. Behold the ceremonial finery that they have bestowed upon me:

It ain\'t easy, wearing green

Yep, I have been hired by a local convenience store chain. I won’t mention them by name for obvious reasons. My feelings about this are extremely mixed. On the one hand, it’s a job. I’ll be earning money and no longer dragging myself and my father deeper into the pit of debt. Also, according to my manager, the company is about to start a major expansion, so the opportunities for advancement are good….. Uhm, I’m trying to think of another positive, but I’ve got nothing.

On the bad side, this is exactly the type of job I went back to school to avoid ever having to work again. Also, while the position they were advertising for was Assistant Manager, they start all new hires at the bottom as a store associate. It turns out Assistant Manager is third tier, which means I’ll have to get promoted twice to get to the level I applied for. So, the company has already started out pulling the old ‘bait and switch‘ on me. Staring out any relationship with a lie is always bad news. Also, I’m making far less than I wanted to, less even than the minimum I wanted to accept, but desperate times call for desperate choices. I’ve done the math and what I’m making should cover my monthly bills and leave me with a whopping one hundred twenty dollars left over….. Which will then be sucked into my gas tank. Of course, that’s theoretical until I see an actual paycheck.

But… I’ve made the commitment. All I can do now is my best. I’m setting a goal for myself to get my first promotion within ninety days. I think that’s realistic. Meanwhile, I’ll keep my eyes open for something better and also look for a second job to supplement my income.

Tomorrow is my first day. Good thoughts and positive energy are always appreciated.